Planning to sell your iPhone? Here are four things you should do first

If you are planning to grab a new iPhone model to replace your old model, you may be wondering what you need to do to clean up the mess on your old device before putting it online for sale. Apple’s iOS is a secure mobile operating system that contains a lot of restrictions, so there are a lot of things you need to set free to ensure that your iPhone is no longer linked to your account.

In this article, we will go through all the things you need to do before selling your iPhone, so you can both keep your personal data safe and get some money. Before we get started, note that the below-mentioned steps may not be relevant to some older iPhone models (iPhone 4 or older)

  1. First, make sure that you have already made a full backup of your device

Backing up your iPhone ranks among the best things to do if you want to protect your personal data against the prying eyes. If you have been using your iPhone for a long time, there is a good chance that you have a lot of important information on your device, ranging from text messages to contacts. Once you have backed up your iPhone, you can move all your data to your new iPhone.

You can back up your iPhone using iTunes or iCloud. In this article, we will show you how to back up your device via iTunes. Check out the steps below.

Step one: First off, connect your iPhone to a Mac or a Windows PC and then open iTunes on your computer (Make sure that you now have the latest version of iTunes on your computer)

Step two: Select your iPhone in iTunes and hit Summary to proceed

Step three: Once you are done, hit Back Up Now from the right window and then click Done to complete the task.

  1. Disable Find My iPhone

Find My iPhone is a great feature on iOS that allows you to locate your iPhone if it is stolen or misplaced. If you are selling your iPhone with Find My iPhone enabled, your iPhone will turn into a useless brick. Therefore, make sure that you have completely removed your iPhone from Find My iPhone before handing it to the new owner.

Step one: Launch the Settings app from your iPhone and then hit iCloud

Step two: Next up, tap Find My iPhone and then turn off the switch for Find My iPhone

Step three: You will be asked to enter your Apple ID password to confirm your action and then tap Turn off.

  1. Unlock your iPhone

If you bought your iPhone from a carrier’s store, it’s most likely locked. This prevents users from using their device on other network. After a certain period of time (24 months, or 12 months), your iPhone can be free. If your iPhone is now still locked to a carrier network, make sure that you unlock it before letting it out of your possession.

There are several iPhone unlock providers out there, but not all of them are trusted. Therefore, make sure that you go with a reliable provider.

  1. Restore your iPhone to factory settings

The final step is to restore your iPhone to factory settings to make sure that you have got nothing left on your iPhone. The process is pretty simply. If you need to help, check out the steps below.

Step one: Launch the Settings from your home screen and then tap on General

Step two: Hit Reset at the bottom of the page and then select Erase All Content and Settings. (You may be asked to enter the passcode to confirm).

Don’t miss: How to charge your iPhone faster

Got any questions? Let us know in the comments below.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*