How to reset Mac before selling it

After a long time usage, you decide to replace your Mac or iMac Pro to another new one and the first thing many of you usually do is selling the current Mac to get money to purchase the new one. Before hitting online markets to sell your old Mac, you will need to clear all your personal data on it first. Accidentally selling your Mac to a stranger when your iCloud is still logged in is a bad thing. In this post today, we’ll show you how to reset your Mac before you sell it.

Step 1: Back up your Mac

If you already purchase a new Mac, you can then easily transfer all your data from your old one to the new one with Time Machine backup. If you don’t have a new Mac yet, make sure to back up the data on your old Mac first so that nothing goes wrong before you get what you need on your new Mac.

Step 2: Log out everything

The next thing you should do is signing out of your personal information currently on your Mac to avoid complications when the new user downloads and installs software licensed by you.

Sign out of iTunes

  1. Launch iTunes app on your Mac.
  2. Click on Account from the Menu bar on the left.
  3. Choose Sign Out.

Sign out of iMessage

  1. Open Messages app on your Mac and click on Messages icon in the Menu bar
  2. Click on Preferences
  3. Choose your iMessage account.
  4. Click on Sign Out.

Sign out of iCloud

  • Click on Apple icon in the left corner.
  • From the drop-down menu, click on System Preferences.
  • Choose iCloud.
  • Uncheck Find My Mac
  • Enter your password when prompted.
  • Select Sign Out.
  • Click on Remove data from this Mac.

Step 3: Reformat your hard drive

Once you have successfully backed up your data and signed out of account connect your old Mac, you can now erase everything on it. To do so

  1. Restart your Mac first
  2. While the startup disc is booting up, hold down Command+Rbuttons simultaneously to boot into macOS Recover.
  3. From there, choose Disk Utility.
  4. Select your Startup disk
  5. Click on Erase from the menu buttons.
  6. Select Mac OS Extended from the drop-down menu.
  7. Click on GUID Partition Map next to Scheme.
  8. Finally, click Erase.

Once the process is complete, simply choose Quit Disk Utility from the Disk Utility menu in the upper left corner.

Also read: How to use new Stocks app in macOS 10.14 Mojave

Step 4: Reinstall a clean MacOS

After reformatting your hard drive, the last step you should do is performing a clean installation of the MacOS. All you need is booting your Mac into the Utilities window.

  1. Restart your Mac.
  2. When the startup disc boots up, hold down the Command + R buttons simultaneously to go into macOS Recover.
  3. Click on Reinstall macOSto reinstall the system on your Mac.
  4. Choose your hard drive when you are prompted to select your disk.
  5. Click on Install to install the latest MacOS version. Your Mac will automatically restart once the installation is done.
  6. Hold down Command + Qbuttons and skip the setup instructions.
  7. Click on Shut Down to turn off your Mac.

These are steps to reset your Mac before selling it. If you have any question, let’s know in the comment.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*